Jane Eyre in brief

Jane Eyre (Charlotte Bronte) –  by Maurice Sagoff

“My Love behaved

                a bit erratic

Our nuptial day

                brought truth dramatic:

He had a wife.

                Mad. In an attic.

I fled! I roamed

                O’er moor and ditch.

When life had struck 

               Its lowest pitch.

An uncle died

                And left me rich.

I sought my love

                Again, to find

An awful fire

                His home had mined.

Kippered his wife

                And left him blind.

Reader, guess what?

                I married him.

My cup is filled

                Up to the brim:

Now we are one.

                We play, we swim.

The power we share

                Defines all pain:

We soar above

                Life’s tangled plain –

He Mr Rochester,

                Me Jane!

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

