Prayer after a crushing bereavement

“And lastly to me who am left to mourn his departure, grant that I may not sorrow as one without hope for my beloved who sleeps in Thee; but that, always remembering his courage, and the love that united us on earth, I may begin again with new courage to serve Thee more fervently who art the only source of true love and true fortitude; that, when I have passed a few more days in this valley of tears and in this shadow of death, supported by Thy rod and staff, I may see him again, face to face, in those pastures and amongst those waters of comfort where, I trust, he already walks with Thee. Oh Shepherd of the Sheep, have pity upon this darkened soul of mine!”

Prayer composed by Robert Hugh Benson and quoted by Vera Brittain in “Testament of Youth”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

